A “plan-to-go” deposit
may be required after initial consultation. Usually we spend
up to an hour planning alternatives for you for free. Then
we request a small fee (and apply it to the cost of your
tour) to cover the time our Alaska Tour Planning Specialists
spend further customizing your tour to your timeframe and
This fee usually is $50 per adult.
are recommended as early as possible to confirm specific
departures. A deposit of $500 per person or 50% of the total
tour, whichever is greater is required at time of booking.
Full payment is required 60 days prior to departure.
Cancellations and refunds: Deposits and other
payments are non-refundable.
Reservations booked within 30 days of departure are on a
request basis and are subject to availability. Late
reservations are subject to a $25 Express Handling fee.
Due to weather
cancellation or change of some of tour components may be
necessary and are non-refundable.
Trip Cancellation, Baggage, Personal Accident, Injury and
Liability Insurance is highly recommended at time of
booking. Ask your reservations agent about the policies
available from Viking Travel, Inc. or consult your insurance
Viking Travel, Inc. acts as agents only and shall not be
liable for any inconvenience, loss, damage, injury,
accident, delay or irregularity which may be occasioned by
reason of defect or through the act of omissions of any
person or company performing or rendering services. Viking
Travel, Inc. uses independent contractors who are not
servants or joint ventures with Viking Travel, Inc.
Alaska Marine Highway System
Terms and Conditions
You can pick up your boarding pass in the terminal at your
departure port or at any Alaska Marine Highway office.
If you wish to make changes to your itinerary, please
contact an agent at 1-800-327-2571. A change fee may apply.
Altering sailing departure and destination points is not
considered a change, but a cancellation even if you will be
rebooking a different leg.
To cancel a ferry reservation, call 1-800-327-2571.
Cancellation penalties are as follows:
Within 24 hours of payment - No Penalty
30 days or more from sailing date - 15%
15-30 days from sailing - 20%
7-14 days from sailing - 30%
1-6 days from sailing - 40%
Within 24 hours of sailing or a no show - 50%
If your cancelling due to a medical
reason or a vehicle mechanical (i.e. crash, breakdown, etc),
a faxed copy of documents must be sent to 1.907.772.3940.
For medical, a doctors note on a
is required. For vehicle mechanicals,
Upon receiving the required documents, AMHS
will decide whether to process a full refund or partial
depending on the situation.
The State of Alaska reserves the right to alter, revise, or
cancel schedules and rates without prior notice and assumes
no responsibility for delays and/or expenses due to such
Failure to check-in by the appointed time could result in
cancellation of your reservation.
Vehicle check-in time before departure:
Bellingham and Prince Rupert:
Ketchikan, Juneau, Haines, Skagway, Kodiak,
Cross-Gulf trips to or from Whittier:
All other ports:
Vehicle check-in is 1 hour prior to departure.
Pets can be transported on the ferry either contained in the
passenger's vehicle, or in an approved pet carrier. Whenever
traveling through Canada or between states with a pet, a
veterinarian-issued health certificate dated within 30 days
of the passengers sailing date is required for each pet.
Canadian customs requires cats and dogs to have proof of
rabies vaccination within the last 3 years. Any other type
of pet requires a valid health certificate in Canada. From
Bellingham to Ketchikan (the first port stop), there are
typically three pet calls a day. Pet calls may be cancelled
if the weather is deemed too hazardous for passengers to be
walking the car deck. You may only be on the car deck when
accompanied by an AMHS employee. Please make sure you have
current health and rabies certificates before travel for
The Alaska Marine Highway has recently made their rules more
strict for service dogs. Those allowed to stay on deck with
passengers are dogs that assist a physically impaired person
(i.e.: seeing eye dog), or dogs who help notify of heart
attack and allergens.
Emotional support dogs are not considered service animals
and are not allowed on the passenger decks.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED THAT YOU CHECK WITH CANADIAN CUSTOMS
BEFORE ENTERING CANADA IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS.
All passengers will need a passport
to enter Canada. Parents who share custody of their children
must have copies of legal custody documents and notarized
permission from the other parent for entry to Canada
(please check with
customs for full details). Canada will not accept
passengers who have DUI's, or other felonies or sometimes
misdemeanors on their record. Passengers cannot carry
handguns into Canada.